You're reading...
Android, App, Apple, Computer, Excel, Home, iPad, iPhone, Microsoft, MS Excel, MS Office, MS Powerpoint, MS Word, Powerpoint, Tips, Website, Word

Microsoft Office on the iPad

Finally, a working solution to using full featured MS Office applications on my iPad! When I first bought my now ageing iPad (version 1) the most important thing I found myself looking for after the initial few days of wonder had passed was a way to edit my MS Office created documents on this wonderful, portable tablet. Nothing really existed which would do it – Pages claims to be compatible but isn’t for anything other than the most basically formatted documents, but I tried it anyway, but never really got to grips with the different interface you have to adopt.

There are various business apps such as the one I bought as the best of the available functionality – DocsToGo, and it has been OK, but it doesn’t do what I really wanted – give me seamless editing of MS Office documents and the same menus and commands etc. as I have become used to from many years of laptop use.

So imagine my surprise when I came across what appears to be the answer to all my Office prayers whilst browsing the free apps in the app Store this week. No fanfare about this in the tech press, no highlight in my normal AppsGoneFree – source of many useful and otherwise hidden gems.

The app in question is called CloudOn! and the website, which will link you to the Apple and Android apps stores to download it, is at http://site.cloudon.com/.

iPad Screenshot 1

MS Word, Excel and PowerPoint are all supported, and it’s just like being in your laptop copy of the same application.  If you are a Microsoft user, and have been waiting for a proper way to edit and maintain your documents across platforms, this seems to be it!

iPad Screenshot 3

If you enjoyed this post, please leave a comment, “Like” it on one of your social media sites or even better subscribe to the blog to get all the posts as they go up.

About Joe Houghton

As a self confessed gadget and app lover, here are my personal musings and thoughts on useful, interesting or maybe just odd technology which caught my eye...

Discussion

No comments yet.

I'd love to hear your comments ...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 212 other followers

Share this blog

Facebook Twitter More...

Archive of posts

Flickr Photos

A bit about me…

